Event Details
Our Blog

2017 Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction

May 19, 2017 - May 19, 2017 Space Shuttle AtlantisĀ®

Join us Friday, May 19, as the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame welcomes astronaut inductees Michael Foale and Ellen Ochoa to its ranks as the class of 2017. Dr. Foale and Dr. Ochoa will be inducted into the Astronaut Hall of Fame at 1 pm during a ceremony on the ground floor of Space Shuttle Atlantis® which includes career highlights of the astronaut candidates and guest speakers. They are joining the elite group of well-known space explorers such as the Mercury Seven, Neil Armstrong and Sally Ride.

Induction events are open to the public and included in daily admission to the visitor complex. Highlights include:

  • May 19 Induction Ceremony 1 to 3 pm at Space Shuttle Atlantis
  • May 20 astronaut autograph signings at Space Shuttle Atlantis 11 am with Ellen OchoaJim Wetherbee and Loren Shriver
  • May 20 astronaut autograph signings at Space Shuttle Atlantis 1 pm with Michael Foale and Brian Duffy
  • Souvenir poster

In conjunction with the induction ceremony, the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation is hosting the Induction Gala May 20 at Apollo/Saturn V Center. The gala event is not included with visitor complex admission.

Learn more about this year's inductees:

Michael Foale was selected as an astronaut candidate in 1987 and later was named mission specialist on three of his six space shuttle missions. Dr. Foale is the only American citizen to have served on both Mir and the International Space Station (ISS). Dr. Foale is known as the first person from the United Kingdom to walk in space and holds the cumulative time-in-space record for a UK citizen. Although Dr. Foale carries dual citizenship in both the U.S. and Great Britain, the Stars and Stripes have always been displayed proudly on his flight suit.

Selected by NASA in 1990, Ellen Ochoa became a United States astronaut in 1991. She served as a mission specialist on her four space shuttle flights and as payload commander on one of the missions. Dr. Ochoa became the first Hispanic woman to go to space with mission STS-56. Dr. Ochoa currently serves as the 11th Director of NASA’s Johnson Space Center and has received numerous awards including NASA's highest award, the Distinguished Service Medal.

2017 Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction

2017 Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction