Event Details
Payload Blog

2020 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction

May 16, 2020 11:00 AM Kennedy Space Center

Veteran astronauts Michael E. Lopez-Alegria, Pamela A. Melroy and Scott Kelly have been selected to receive one of the highest honors in their industry. This May, they will be inducted into the United States Astronaut Hall of Fame® at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, and will join the just 99 individuals who currently hold that esteemed honor as the “First Class of the New Decade.”

On May 16, 2020 at 11:00 am, join the visitor complex on the bottom floor of Space Shuttle Atlantis® to honor these heroes during the 2020 induction ceremony. Selected by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation, inductees must have made their first flight at least 17 years before the induction, must be a U.S. citizen, a NASA-trained commander, pilot or mission specialist and have orbited the Earth at least once.

The ceremony is included with daily admission to the visitor complex.

While at the visitor complex, be sure to visit the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame located inside Heroes & Legends. There, you will learn about all of the astronauts who belong to this prestigious group through interactive kiosks.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) participated in creating a venue where space travelers could be remembered – the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame, which opened in 1990. Today, the foundation serves as a consultant for the Hall of Fame, which includes conducting the selection process of astronauts for enshrinement by an outside committee. For more information and to purchase tickets for the evening’s gala, visit www.AstronautScholarship.org.

Astronaut Hall of Fame

2020 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction

Launch Director Tour of Space Shuttle AtlantisĀ®

Fly With An Astronaut | Norm Thagard

Rocket Launch: July 2020 TBD | ULA Atlas V Mars 2020