Event Details
Payload Blog

U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction 

Nov 13, 2021 11:00 AM Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex


Veteran astronauts Michael E. Lopez-Alegria, Pamela A. Melroy, and Scott Kelly will receive one of their industry's highest honors as they are inducted into the United States Astronaut Hall of Fame®. As the inductees of the 2020 class, they will join the 99 individuals who currently hold that esteemed honor. Astronauts Lopez-Alegria, Melroy, and Kelly were actually selected as inductees in 2020. However, their induction ceremony has been postponed until now to allow us the ability to safely honor their achievement with friends and family. For this reason, there will not be a 2021 class of inductees. 

The induction ceremony will take place on the bottom floor of Space Shuttle Atlantis® on November 13, 2021 beginning at 11:00 AM to honor these heroes. Signed posters of the inductees will be available to guests viewing the ceremony, but on a limited supply. This event is included with daily admission. 




About the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame 

While at the visitor complex, be sure to visit the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame located inside Heroes & Legends. There, you will learn about all of the astronauts who belong to this prestigious group through interactive kiosks.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) participated in creating a venue where space travelers could be remembered – the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame. Today, the foundation serves as a consultant for the Hall of Fame, which includes conducting the selection process of astronauts for enshrinement by an outside committee. For more information about the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame inductees and process, visit www.AstronautScholarship.org.

Astronaut Hall of Fame

U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction