ALL-NEW TRAINING EXPERIENCE FOR FUTURE SPACE EXPLORERS

Nowhere else on Earth can students train to go to Mars and experience astronaut training than at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex. Today’s students are the next generation of space explorers, and there is nothing more inspirational than astronaut training with authentic NASA science and engineering.

 

In this new Astronaut Training Experience (ATX), students will join the crew as they begin a spectacular new mission simulation including launching, landing and walking on Mars. Perform a spacewalk through exciting and immersive microgravity simulation technology. Trainees will also participate in a launch of NASA’s Space Launch System (SLS) rocket as a member of both the launch control team and the Orion capsule crew. Throughout the training, create personalized video logs of the unforgettable experience to revisit after you complete your mission. 

 

Times: 5 hour program, beginning at 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM

Trainees: Individuals or groups, ages 10 and older

Price: $175 (plus tax)

 

2018 PUBLIC DATES

February

  • Saturday, February 10
  • Sunday, February 11
  • Wednesday, February 14
  • Saturday, February 17
  • Sunday, February 18
  • Saturday, February 24
  • Sunday, February 25
  • Wednesday, February 28

 

March

  • Saturday, March 3
  • Sunday, March 4
  • Wednesday, March 7
  • Saturday, March 10
  • Sunday, March 11
  • Saturday, March 17
  • Sunday, March 18
  • Saturday, March 24
  • Sunday, March 25
  • Saturday, March 31

 

April

  • Sunday, April 1
  • Sunday, April 8
  • Sunday, April 15
  • Wednesday, April 18
  • Saturday, April 21
  • Sunday, April 22
  • Saturday, April 28
  • Sunday, April 29

 

Admission to the Astronaut Training Experience does not include daily admission to the visitor complex, but daily admission is not required to participate. Add admission to visit on your second day and have the complete Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex experience!

Trainee groups larger than 10 must reserve their spot by calling 1.855.433.4210 from 8 AM to 6 PM EST. If you do not see a date that fits your schedule, inquire about a private experience for your group. Full payment is due at the time of booking.

Be on the lookout for Training Stages of ATX, shorter experiences, available as an add-on enhancement to daily admission.

 

RESERVE TRAINING

 

 

 

SAFETY AND RESTRICTIONS:

All Astronaut Training Experience Simulators: For safety, you should be in good health and free from high blood pressure, heart, back or neck problems, motion sickness, or other conditions that could be aggravated by this experience.  Expectant mothers should not participate.

Lander/Rover Simulator: Those who have had recent surgery or injury should not ride.  Participants must be at least 51” tall.

Walk on Mars Virtual Reality: If you experience seizures, loss of awareness, eye strain, altered vision or other visual abnormalities, dizziness, disorientation, or any symptom related to motion sickness, you should not participate.  Guests who have pre-existing binocular vision abnormalities should not participate.

Spacewalk Training: Participants must be at least 48 inches/1.22 meters tall. Max weight 275 pounds/127 kilograms.

 

Mars Base 1

Education Field Trips

Camp Kennedy Space Center

Trip Planner
Family at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex entrance